Fred's Wrenchouse

647 Buena Vista Ave. 

Alameda, CA 94501

(510) 521-7215

service@fredswrenchouse.com

Hours of Operation

Mon:      8 AM - 5 PM

Tue:        8 AM - 5 PM

Wed:      8 AM - 5 PM

Thu:        8 AM - 5 PM

Fri:         8 AM - 5 PM

Sat:        Closed

Sun:       Closed

© 2014 Fred's Wrenchouse. Proudly created by FirstDaySocial.com

  • G
  • G maps
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • yelp
  • business_badge4

Testimonials

9/6/2018

Bjorn P. - San Francisco, CA

Don't ever let anyone tell you there's such a thing as a "free car". I got a car that needed a lot of work, but was going to be easy since I just had to sell mine to pay for it. Well it was way more work than expected. That was no one's fault except Ford's. I was expecting to pay 2x what Fred charged me, so thankfully it wasn't near as bad as it could have been. Fred's has skilled mechanics, honest owners, and a fast turnaround time. I live in the city, but I am very loyal when I find a place like Fred's. This is the place you want to do all your work.

6/1/2018

Brad K. - Hayward, CA

I had my oil changed here, and it was a super easy experience, would return again in a heartbeat. Really great service. I called in on my way to work to see if they had availability, and spoke to a very nice guy who said to bring it in during lunch. They checked me in super quick, and the price for the oil change was about half what I was expecting, so the whole transaction was amazing, to say the least. Picked up the car 2 hours later and was hassle free. Very nice guys who work here, and really wonderful service.

1/13/2018

Raymond D. - Alameda, CA

These folks were able to solve a problem with my Outback that I had taken to other mechanics with lots of expense, but no result. They are real mechanics, ,not just folks who replace stuff, they actually try to get to the root of the problem. Price was very reasonable for the time they spent on it. Great to find such a place. Not many like this around any more.

1/12/2018

Brittney F. - Redwood City, CA

Fred and his son are super accommodating and nice! They do a great job and would recommend their work to anyone! If you live in the area, please give them a try!! :)

1/3/2018

William M. - San Francisco, CA

What a really nice guy Fred is. He's been taking care of Helen's truck for years now, and that truck is in great condition, even though it's 19 years old. Fred is the best.

12/16/2017

Chuck C. - Alameda, CA

I was on the hunt for a local shop here in Alameda and I'm glad I choose these guys. I took my truck in for new brakes and an oil change and I couldn't be happier with the job. A great honest and friendly shop. Thx guys!

11/17/2017

Karen K. - Richmond, CA

I took my car to Fred's Wrenchouse for the first time for an oil change, tire rotation and possible brake reline. I had been told in July by my former, long time mechanic (who has since retired and closed his shop) that I didn't need brake pads right away, but possible within the next 10,000 miles. I thought I'd be proactive and wouldn't have minded replacing them early, but after inspection, Fred and Barry told me that, no, I didn't need my brakes relined this time, but possibly next time. At no time was I ever upsold anything I didn't need. So there definitely will be a next time!

9/24/2017

Melissa A. - Alameda, CA

Took my car in for an oil change and brake work -- service was great and prices are very affordable! It's always a little nerve wracking trying to find a good mechanic that you know you can trust but I will definitely be bringing my car here from now on. Barry, Fred's son, is a great guy! I like that the business is family-owned and operated and that they're longtime Alameda residents. They really make you feel like you're part of the family and they definitely take pride in their work.

7/5/2017

Shannon W. - San Francisco, CA

Car broke down while on a road trip and he got us in right away. Friendly and quick.

5/10/2017

Ryan S. - Berkeley, CA

After 3 blown head gaskets and lots of steam exiting my car, it was time for a replacement. I called a half dozen places before being directed here, and they didn't blink an eye when I asked for a replacement, not a rebuild. 
They came back quick with a reasonable quote, had my car in there 2 days later. The first engine they received wasn't up to their standard, so they called me up to discuss my options. Ended up with a 0 mile rebuilt engine for thousands less than getting mine rebuilt. They also let me know about some other problems that should be remedied while the engine was out for basically the cost of parts, awesome!
Completely professional, great communicators, and will pretty much do any car job you ask of them. I totally trust these guys to work on my car from now on.

2/19/2017

Roger D. - Alameda, CA

Quick & easy oil change at a very reasonable price! Reliable staff even replaced my air filter & it was cheaper than just a standard oil change alone that I used to get in San Diego. Will definitely be back when necessary!

1/18/2017

Jennifer W. - Oakland, CA

I went here because it had good ratings on yelp and I'm glad I did! Fred is so sweet and it feels like a family business when I go in. I went in for a oil change and smog a couple months ago and went back today for tire rotation and filter change. I will continue to go to Fred for all of my cars needs. It just feels honest and good in there.

12/4/2016

S. P. G. - Alameda, CA

First time servicing my vehicle at Fred's Wrenchouse. Very pleased with the entire experience from communication to servicing. No problems or hassles. Look forward to returning to Fred's in the future for all my automotive needs. These guys are very professional. No regrets of any sort. Highly recommend their services.

10/13/2016

Kathy W. - Alameda, CA

These guys were great. Very efficient. Very fair on price. Took my old Rav4 in and they took great care of her. They explained my options and had my car back to me in a day. It was an awesome experience all the way around. Highly recommend.

6/28/2016

Thomas J. - El Cerrito, CA

I'm glad I came to Fred's. Fantastic Garage- Highly recommended. You're in good hands here.

5/4/2016

Ray P. - San Bruno, CA

Easy to deal with and very professional. Get my oil and tire rotation done here on the regular. A bit out of my way to have it done here but worth it. Staff is efficient and knowledgable

4/19/2016

Danny S. - Los Angeles, CA

Great customer service, quality work, and honest pricing. What more can you ask for in a mechanics shop. Took my car in for scheduled maintenance after walking in and setting up an appointment. They were very thorough on what was going to be done to my vehicle and assured me I'd be notified if anything else was needed. Luckily there were no issues that needed immediate attention so they called me to let me know it was ready, earlier than I expected. Once I picked up the car they even gave me suggestions on how to keep my car running better! This is definitely going to be my go to spot for my car needs. These guys are great, and if you need work done on any of your vehicles give them a call they won't disappoint.

4/13/2016

Courtney G. - Alameda, CA

Really nice mechanic. I can say I trust them. I went in for an oil change and they did a really wonderful job. Nothing was messed up, my messy Benz was just as messy as I left it, but running tons better. I am definitely bringing my car back here to work on other odd and ends. Thanks guys!

2/10/2016

Brian P. - Oakland, CA

Fred and his team are the BEST! The brake light went on in my 'little' car and I did not want to take it to the Dealership Service Department- knowing they would take me to the cleaners. Fred and team were very detailed and checked all my brake lines, filled the brake fluid and cleaned my brakes! It does not get better than that! The 'Dealership' has a 39 point check when you have an oil change and are suppose to top off all fluids....so why was my brake fluid almost empty? Maybe they didn't top off all the fluids- 'cause if they did- the brake light would not have gone off! 5 Stars for Fred and his team. I used Uber to take me home while being serviced and to bring me back when my car was ready. No doubt- take your business here! Thanks, Fred!

1/6/2016

Carol P. - Alameda, CA

We are trying to keep our one and only very old car running. It's been one thing after another because of its age. Fred is our car's guardian angel.  He has dealt with us fairly for years and has helped us plot a strategy for keeping our car on the road as long as is humanly possible.  One thing I really appreciate about him is he respects people no matter their financial circumstances and doesn't pressure you to have things done when you cannot afford it. At the same time if he thinks there is something unsafe going on with your car he is honest with you and tells you it needs to be repaired right away.

Read More